Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Surge + shooting/spells

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Surge + shooting/spells

    Hi guys.

    So I was looking at EoD and a thought occurred to me.

    Lets say you have ranged enslaved guardians, can I, in theory fire their range weapons, and then surge them into combat and fight with them?

    If this is legal, assuming I fired and surged into the same unit, does this cause 2 nerve checks? (assuming I did damage both times)

    Kind regards

  • #2
    Oh wait, can answer part of my own question:
    "Nerve tests for any damage it might have taken previously in that Shoot phase."
    But I do believe they can still fight.

    Comment


    • #3
      Yes you can do that.
      I believe it was only one nerve test...let's wait for someone smarter than me.

      Comment


      • #4
        This question have already been answered multiple time. While I can't remember which rule point indicates it, it seem no waver test can occurs at the end of the range attack phase if the unit is engaged in melee (think it's part of the surge rule).

        This also mean the unit do no test at all if you fail to inflict at least one damage.

        One unit can only roll 2 nerve test after surviving a melee round, when another unit engage it by killing an individual and choosing to move forward into the wounded unit
        Almost Daily Baldy Worded Hobby Progress.

        Comment


        • #5
          It is explicitly stated in the surge rules - if you sure something into combat the unit (if it had taken damage from shooting) doesn't take a nerve test at the end of the shooting phase.

          You can still fight and roll any additional test at the end of combat as normal. You could theoretically overrun an individual into the combat after that - the last nerve test stands
          Last edited by Sceleris; 04-09-2018, 07:54 PM.

          Comment


          • #6
            So, what happens if you shoot an enemy unit, then cast "Mind Fog" on it before surging a friendly unit into contact. Would there be a nerve test for mind fog (which is not damage), in spite of the surge?

            I see the desire to prevent a unit from taking multiple nerve tests across a single turn, but the specific phrasing of surge suggests to me that non-damage sources for nerve tests should carry through. Is that accurate?

            Comment


            • #7
              No ... if you surge into combat there is no nerve test in the shooting phase ...

              Comment


              • #8
                Originally posted by Klarg1 View Post
                So, what happens if you shoot an enemy unit, then cast "Mind Fog" on it before surging a friendly unit into contact. Would there be a nerve test for mind fog (which is not damage), in spite of the surge?

                I see the desire to prevent a unit from taking multiple nerve tests across a single turn, but the specific phrasing of surge suggests to me that non-damage sources for nerve tests should carry through. Is that accurate?
                Remember this, in the shooting phase nerves tested AT THE END OF THE PHASE. That rule exists for a reason. If a unit is in combat then it doesn't test nerve, simple.
                Tales of a Stranded Ghekkotah - Salamander Battle Reports

                Odes and Sonnets from an outcast Troubadour - Brotherhood Battle Reports


                KoW Painting Blog

                Youtube Channel

                Comment


                • #9
                  Strictly speaking - it would seem that Mind Fog would still cause a nerve check. Surge is quite specific that it ignores nerve checks from damage - but Mind Fog is different since it causes no damage. I guess that's not the intention though.

                  Comment


                  • #10
                    Already ruled on:

                    https://www.mantic.club/forum/kings-...g-reload-surge

                    Comment


                    • #11
                      Originally posted by pinkymadigan View Post

                      Very nice. Thank you!

                      Comment

                      Working...
                      X