tips needed

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• tips needed

I'm new to painting minis, especially plastic one, and I had a few questions.

1) do they need rinsed in water prior to priming?

2.) would rubber cement work for masking off the base prior to priming so that the base doesn't get sprayed by the primer? Or any suggestions?

3.) opinions on bes paints to use

Thanks for the help

hey.
    1) its a good idea, some minis have a layer of release agent from the molds on them stopping paint from sticking nicely.
    2) just prime the base at the same time. or prime off base, blutac to t stick
    3) i use whatever, some swear by armypainter, some by vallejo, the citadel paints are good but the pots are crap. for primier i think armypainter is good.

Comment

I'm with The_Bag on this one
      1) I always wash minis prior to priming. Some people seem to get by without it but I'd rather not chance it.
      2) I just prime the miniature and the base at the same time. I like to paint the bases so mine need priming.
      3) I'd suggest you go with whatever you can easily get hold of locally - there's nothing worse than running out of a colour and then having to travel miles to get a replacement or waiting days for the post to arrive. I usually buy citadel (despite the pots) even though it isn't the cheapest. I do swear by the army painter quickshade inks though - I would highly recommend you pick up at least the Strong Tone and the Dark Tone.

Comment

Thanks for the quick answers, I really appreciate it!

1) I'll make sure to wash each one before priming
        2) I wanted to mask the base because I wanted to keep it unpainted on some minis and didn't know a good way to do it
        3) Thanks for the paint suggestions. I will pick up some of the Army Painter primers as well as the quickshades.

Comment

Originally posted by lmhloa View Post
          2) I wanted to keep it unpainted on some minis and didn't know a good way to do it